Author: Robin Hobb

First Book: Assassin’s Apprentice

Sample Chapter: Chapter 1, Assassin’s Apprentice

Back Blurb:

Young Fitz is the bastard son of the noble Prince Chivalry, raised in the shadow of the royal court by his father’s gruff stableman. He is treated like an outcast by all the royalty except the devious King Shrewd, who has him secretly tutored in the arts of the assassin. For in Fitz’s blood runs the magic Skill–and the darker knowledge of a child raised with the stable hounds and rejected by his family. As barbarous raiders ravage the coasts, Fitz is growing to manhood. Soon he will face his first dangerous, soul-shattering mission. And though some regard him as a threat to the throne, he may just be the key to the survival of the kingdom.

HQ’s Take:

The Farseer Trilogy may be the most emotionally powerful series on this list. The complex relationships amongst the main character, his family, his love interest, and his closest companion (a wolf) are compelling enough to justify reading the series.  Add in a solid plot line with exciting adventure and it’s easy to see how this series made the top 15.  Buy it here , or return to HQ’s Power Search