Author: Brandon Sanderson

First Book: Mistborn: The Final Empire

Mistborn: The Final Empire CoverThe original Mistborn trilogy led to Brandon Sanderson being given the great honor of finishing The Wheel of Time following the untimely demise of author Robert Jordan.  Not only did Sanderson exceed all expectations in finishing the last 3 books (of 13 total) in of WoT, his rise to fantasy super-stardom thankfully also introduced many new fantasy fans (including us) to his original works.

Brandon Sanderson excels in two key areas:  Firstly, he creates some of the most dynamic and inspirational leaders in all of Fantasy Fiction, two of which are found in Mistborn.  Secondly, few authors can match Sanderson’s ability to develop highly complex and original magic systems, three of which are found in Mistborn!  For fans of Epic Heroic Fantasy, Mistborn is a must-read.

While the original trilogy is a completely self-contained adventure, Sanderson continues to write books in the same world that follow events years after the original story concludes, beginning with The Alloy of Law (Mistborn #4).

Watch HQ’s Mistborn Video Preview:

Read a Free Sample or Buy it Now!

From the Publisher: For a thousand years the ash fell and no flowers bloomed. For a thousand years the Skaa slaved in misery and lived in fear. For a thousand years the Lord Ruler, the “Sliver of Infinity,” reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror, divinely invincible.

Then, when hope was so long lost that not even its memory remained, a terribly scarred, heart-broken half-Skaa rediscovered it in the depths of the Lord Ruler’s most hellish prison. Kelsier “snapped” and found in himself the powers of a Mistborn. A brilliant thief and natural leader, he turned his talents to the ultimate caper, with the Lord Ruler himself as the mark.
Kelsier recruited the underworld’s elite, the smartest and most trustworthy allomancers, each of whom shares one of his many powers, and all of whom relish a high-stakes challenge. Only then does he reveal his ultimate dream, not just the greatest heist in history, but the downfall of the divine despot.

But even with the best criminal crew ever assembled, Kel’s plan looks more like the ultimate long shot, until luck brings a ragged girl named Vin into his life. Like him, she’s a half-Skaa orphan, but she’s lived a much harsher life. Vin has learned to expect betrayal from everyone she meets, and gotten it. She will have to learn to trust, if Kel is to help her master powers of which she never dreamed.